Project 333, Pt. 1: The Motivation

I have been trying to declutter for awhile. And by “trying to,” I mean, “thinking I should, but never made any move to.” I know that That Weird Kid from the Gas Station would feel better if we had less stuff. I always say that the clutter doesn’t affect me because I’ve never really felt the effects. But then it occurred to me that I have never actually lived in an environment that wasn’t just barely functional because of all the extra stuff. If you look at old pictures of anywhere I’ve ever lived, starting with my room in my parents’ house when I was a kid right up until the house I am sitting in right now, you will see shelves filled to the max, most if not all vertical surfaces completely covered. There is just stuff everywhere. And I have never really felt fully functional. Do I get stuff done? Yeah. Do I fulfill my obligations competently and thoughtfully? Yes. But I always feel like I’m just barely making it and what I do get done, I have to fight for tooth and nail.

So I want to see how it is to live in a less cluttered environment. I have been thinking that I should start with the living room because that is the space we use the most  and it is the most public. So it seemed like it would be the most impact. But now I am thinking that the most impact on me and, consequently, the rest of the family and house, would be in the bedroom. I am hoping that if I can wake up and not have to see a closet full of clothes that I only half like or can’t even wear on the wrong day, then maybe that will start the day off better. Maybe I will have more mental energy if the first and last place I see everyday is not full of dusty clutter. So I’m starting with my wardrobe.

This is another thing that I’ve been wanting to do for a while, I’ve just never been sure how, I guess. I declutter my closet periodically, but really I just get rid of the things that don’t fit or were a bad idea to begin with or are just falling apart. So I am going to do a thing called Project 333. You can read about it here: theproject333.com but the gist of it is that you take your wardrobe down to 33 items for 3 months. Those 33 items include outerwear, accessories and clothes that you wear out of the house. It doesn’t include underclothes, pajamas or work out clothes, assuming you only wear those clothes for their intended purposes. I am also not including “work clothes” which are the clothes I wear for messy projects like painting walls and gardening. In the next installment, I will show you the demolition of my wardrobe. It was so FUN! =D

Leave a Reply

