Meanwhile, Back in The Bedroom

This is not going to be nearly as racy as that title makes it sound. And that is saying a lot.

I took a mental health day today. I didn’t do nothing but I did try not to think too hard all day. It mostly worked. The kids are at their bio-dad’s house, so we went to the orchard and picked about 90 lbs. of apples. Then we got 5 Guys for lunch and went grocery shopping. I did pretty good couponing, saved about 40% and got gift cards for fast food that earned gas reward points. Yum. =) Then I came home and worked on my bedroom. My plan is to declutter each room starting with my bedroom. Then, as the rooms are decluttered, I will get a cleaning routine going in each one, building up in baby steps until I have a whole house routine going. We’ll see how it goes and if it sticks. =D

So in my bedroom I started with my wardrobe. I have to say I love, love, love my pared down closet. It is so nice to wake up and look in a half full closet. I had no idea! And now I’m moving clockwise around to what I call the “front wall” because it is in front of me when I am sitting on my bed. Also, it’s our main accent wall, so it’s the front.

Anyway, this is what the front wall of my bedroom used to look like:

20141029_154729_HDR

I got rid of the dresser the same day I was doing my Project 333 declutter. Later, I went through and got rid of the laundry basket and the various other things. Today, I bagged up some blankets and did a very thorough dust mopping and sweeping. And now it looks like this:

2014-11-08 18.16.52

It’s kind of dark and blurry, but I think you get the point. Nice, clean, nowhere to pile junk. Yay. I keep getting more and more excited about this whole decluttering/simplifying thing. I’m not pressuring myself to do some every day, I just get to it when I feel like it and I have done some probably 4 or 5 out of the last 7 days. Not a lot, but at least one small task. I’m learning that things can done in small increments, as well as large, so that is good. Also, if I just do it when I feel like it and don’t beat myself up for the times when I don’t, I actually feel like it quite a lot of the time.

Leave a Reply

