Timely Messages: We Are No Big Deal

I lead a children’s class in a certain Bible Study organization. I teach 3rd and 4th graders. Tonight was quite a night, I must say. Let’s just say that sometimes nine-year-olds are…nine years old. I mean, for reals. I am not sure they learned anything tonight. I am not sure they ever stopped talking and actually listened tonight. But I can honestly say that I put every effort into it. I tried to follow the leading of the Spirit, but I may have misheard. A few times.

I don’t feel bad, though. I am grateful that I get to teach them and I am grateful that they get to learn and read their Bibles and that they are all eager and enthusiastic about their lessons, even when that means they are more boisterous than I would like them to be. And I am confident that no matter how pathetic my work is, no matter how lame I am, no matter how rowdy they are, God will do a good work in, through and for all of us.

Yesterday, my pastor gave a sermon on 1 Corinthians 3:5-9. One of the points he pulled out of there was this: We are no big deal. Here’s the verse:

What then is Apollos? What is Paul? Servants through whom you believed, as the Lord assigned to each. I planted, Apollos watered, but God gave the growth. So neither he who plants nor he who waters is anything, but only God who gives the growth. He who plants and he who waters are one, and each will receive his wages according to his labor. For we are God’s fellow workers. You are God’s field, God’s building.  -1 Corinthians 3:5-9

We plant or we water, but God does all the work. That’s how salvation works, right? God does all the work. God made the sacrifice, God was the sacrifice, God called the debt redeemed. And any truth that those kids learned wasn’t because of my awesome teaching skills, it was because God’s word is powerful and God’s plans are perfect. And it confirms what we already know. We prepare and we obey, but, at the end of the day, it’s all in God’s hands. And in that we can find freedom and comfort. Freedom to try, freedom to mess it up, comfort when we do the latter or do not the former.

The horse is made ready for the day of battle, but victory belongs to the Lord.
-Proverbs 21:31

Leave a Reply

